Gaming

General gaming news in short briefs: releases, updates, announcements and trends from across the industry that don't fit a single franchise.

Filtering datastream by specific parameter. 30 records matching

Latest news

  • Latest news The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past — Polygon says it's 'more fun than ever' at 35

    Polygon reported that The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past is “somehow more fun than ever” as it reaches its 35th anniversary. The piece was published by Jason Venter on September 26, 2026, and frames the game's lasting appeal within the medium’s early 1990s output. Polygon's report characterizes the game as an example of important releases that had lasting impact by 1991. The article is presented as a retrospective/opinion rather than an announcement of new releases or products.

  • Latest news Ex-D&D leads say Critical Role's Daggerheart is a 'fundamental shift'

    Polygon reports that former Dungeons & Dragons lead designers Chris Perkins and Jeremy Crawford said Critical Role's new TTRPG, Daggerheart, represents a 'fundamental shift' for tabletop role‑playing games. Polygon reports the two helped shape D&D's modern 5th edition and that their work continued into the game's 5.5 edition. According to Polygon, in an interview they described Daggerheart as emphasizing collaborative storytelling and allowing players to 'steer the ship.' Polygon frames the designers' comments as positioning Daggerheart to change conventional TTRPG design approaches.

  • Latest news NYT Connections answers and hints for Sunday, September 27 (puzzle #1204)

    Insider Gaming published hints and full answers for the New York Times game NYT Connections puzzle #1204 for Sunday, September 27. The guide provides hints and solutions intended to help players who are stuck on that daily puzzle. Insider Gaming's article also outlines how NYT Connections works, reporting that the game launched in June 2023, is free-to-play, available worldwide, and playable on desktop or in a mobile app. The guide reiterates that each daily puzzle presents a 16-word grid to be sorted into four groups of four with a single solution and that some words can have double meanings.

  • Latest news Dragon's Dogma 2: Dark Arisen explains lack of new vocations, GameRant reports

    GameRant reported on September 26, 2026 that Dragon's Dogma 2: Dark Arisen "made its lack of new vocations make a lot more sense," according to the article headline. The piece is credited to GameRant writer LB Beistad. The supplied evidence consists of the GameRant headline, byline, and publication date but does not include the article body or developer statements. No other sources or corroborating details were provided in the evidence.

  • Latest news Steam free download claimable until September 29

    GameRant reported that a brand-new free download is available on Steam and must be claimed by September 29. The report was published by GameRant on September 26, 2026. GameRant also noted that Steam regularly runs free giveaways and occasionally offers free trials. GameRant did not provide the name of the download in the excerpt provided.

  • Latest news Minecraft reveals The Sift, its first new dimension in more than a decade

    TheGamer reported on Sep 26, 2026 that the Minecraft Live showcase revealed a new dimension called The Sift. TheGamer described The Sift as the first new dimension added to Minecraft in more than a decade. TheGamer named the reveal among the major announcements at the Minecraft Live event. TheGamer's report did not specify a release date, platform availability, or additional feature details.

  • Latest news Minecraft Live 2026: Mojang announces rare ice caves with Frozen Zombie

    Mojang announced at Minecraft Live 2026 (September 26, 2026) that Minecraft will receive rare ice caves containing new ice crystals, environmental items, and a mob called the Frozen Zombie. Insider Gaming reported the Frozen Zombie can freeze players if they take too many hits from it. The same coverage said Mojang also showed a new dimension, gave a deep dive into Minecraft Dungeons 2, introduced a creator initiative called The Sift, and provided an update on the Minecraft World theme park. Insider Gaming framed the presentation under a "Minecraft Goes Big in 2027" run-through.

  • Latest news Video Game Menu: The Game makes menus the game's entire focus

    Rock Paper Shotgun reported on Sept. 26, 2026 that Video Game Menu: The Game is a title built around navigating and clicking through in-game menus instead of conventional gameplay. The article says the game's Steam page presents the concept with tongue-in-cheek copy that asks whether players are "tired of" challenges, levels or gameplay. Rock Paper Shotgun notes the Steam page uses everyday examples—such as switching off music to listen to a podcast—to illustrate the menu-first design. The article includes an image credited to Sebastian Gioseffi.

  • Latest news Minecraft: Mojang announces new dimension 'The Sift' for Java and Bedrock in 2027

    Mojang announced that Minecraft will gain a new dimension called The Sift in the Java and Bedrock editions in 2027, Insider Gaming reported. Insider Gaming says The Sift was already revealed as coming to Minecraft Dungeons 2, which the outlet reports is preparing to hit the market on September 29. The article notes The Sift would be the first new Minecraft dimension since The End was introduced in 2011, more than 14 years ago. Insider Gaming adds that many details remain mysterious but that The Sift is said to introduce new biomes and mobs.

  • Latest news Minecraft: Ice Caves confirmed as next game drop with frozen zombies and ice balls

    IGN reports Mojang confirmed at Minecraft LIVE that the next Minecraft "game drop" will add Ice Caves, a new rare underground extension to cold biomes. The update reportedly includes glowing ice crystals that can be placed vertically or horizontally and used as a light source and decoration. IGN says a new hostile mob, the frozen zombie, will be added; it can apply freezing effects and throw damaging ice balls, which IGN reports can also be used as weapons or to craft potions. Mojang told IGN the Ice Caves add environmental variety to cold biomes and warned, "Though they may be beautiful, these caves are far from safe."

  • Latest news Minecraft World hotel and 'Escape the Nether' rollercoaster announced for 2027

    IGN reports Mojang Studios and Merlin Entertainments confirmed that Minecraft World at Chessington World of Adventures Resort will include the world’s first official Minecraft hotel and a rollercoaster named Escape the Nether, both set to open in 2027. IGN says concept art and images released for the attraction show wooden houses, Creepers, TNT blocks, a Nether dining area, interactive adventures, blockbuilt playscapes, and themed retail. IGN attributes the announcements to Minecraft LIVE coverage. IGN's article states the attractions are scheduled to open in 2027 but does not provide exact opening dates.

  • Latest news Silent Hill: Townfall: Guide lists locations for 15 Strange Postcards

    TheGamer published a location guide, reporting that Silent Hill: Townfall contains 15 collectible Strange Postcards and that decoding them can unlock a secret. The guide, written by Kaitlyn Peterson and dated September 26, 2026, maps those postcards across the game. TheGamer says the postcards are found throughout most of the game and are typically hidden off the beaten path, encouraging exploration. The published guide is divided into multiple parts (for example, Part 1: Simon through Part 6: Simon) as presented in the article.

  • Latest news Aniimo: TheGamer explains how to restore Primegy

    TheGamer published a guide on Sep 26, 2026 explaining how to restore Primegy in Aniimo. The piece was written by Aleksandar Perisic and is presented as a fact-based guide. The article includes sections titled "How Primegy Works" and "How To Restore Primegy." TheGamer also reports that Aniimo is a free-to-play game it describes as generous and without gacha mechanics.

  • Latest news Control Resonant to get New Game++ mode and photo mode next month

    Rock Paper Shotgun reports Remedy Entertainment told players in a Steam blog post that Control Resonant will receive a New Game++ mode and a photo mode next month. RPS says Remedy issued a same-day launch hotfix that addressed various combat complaints and described a fuller update arriving next month. According to the report, the current New Game+ lets players beat the game only one more time, and Remedy said it is preparing an update to expand New Game+ functionality. The report does not specify the exact features or timing beyond the publisher's statement that the update is planned for next month.

  • Latest news GameRant: Four new souls-like games officially coming out very soon

    GameRant reports four new souls-like games have been officially announced and are described as coming out "very soon." The article is written by Mark Sammut. GameRant's piece was updated on September 26, 2026. The supplied evidence does not include the game names, release dates, platforms, or other launch specifics.

  • Latest news Silent Hill Townfall: GameRant explains all endings

    GameRant published a guide that explains all reported endings in Silent Hill Townfall, naming Abandoned, Forever, Justice, Sci‑Fi, and Dog endings. The guide reports the game's ending is "pretty confusing" and says players need to pay close attention to in‑game Documents and may need to replay the game to reach specific outcomes. The article was written by Jake Fillery and published on Sep 26, 2026; GameRant identifies Fillery as an Editor (Guides) who covers day‑one coverage for AAA and live‑service games. The piece also offers multiple summary formats, including a fact‑based summary and simplified explainers such as "Explain it like I'm 5."

  • Latest news Castlevania hits 40th anniversary; Belmont's Curse set to release October 15

    GameRant reported that Castlevania has reached its 40th anniversary and that Castlevania: Belmont's Curse is scheduled to release on October 15. GameRant published a recommended roster of Castlevania games to play for the anniversary, framed across eras including Linear Side-Scrolling, Igavania, 3D, and the reboots. The article was published by GameRant on September 26, 2026. GameRant presented the upcoming Belmont's Curse release as a timely reason to revisit defining entries from those eras.

  • Latest news Marvel's Wolverine patch adds option to turn off scent trails

    Polygon reported that the latest patch for Marvel's Wolverine gives players the option to turn off directional assist features such as scent trails. Polygon's article, written by Tomas Franzese, was published on Sep 26, 2026. The piece described scent trails as the game's most-hated directional assist and said the update is one some players had been waiting for. The article included image credit to Insomniac Games and Sony Interactive Entertainment.

  • Latest news Nintendo Life: Nintendo shared Ocarina of Time overworld map for Switch 2

    Nintendo Life reported that Nintendo shared a look at Ocarina of Time's overworld map for Switch 2. The same Nintendo Life feature also noted intensified rumours about a re-release of Pokémon Ruby and Sapphire and a new Switch bundle for Europe. Nintendo Life's article listed several recent reviews (including DRAGON QUEST XI S: Echoes of an Elusive Age - Definitive Edition and EA Sports FC 27) and included an editor note about playing Tears of the Kingdom and Pragmata. Nintendo Life's report did not provide a release date or broader availability details for the Switch 2 map preview.

  • Latest news Escape from Tarkov event adds battle pass documents to daily quests

    Battlestate Games rolled out an in-game Escape from Tarkov event that, Insider Gaming reported, makes daily tasks reward “battle pass documents” starting September 26, 2026. Insider Gaming said those documents can be used to climb tiers and unlock exclusive rewards in the Kord Breach battle pass. The outlet reported the event frames an escalating conflict between Scav and PMC factions and includes an in-universe rumour about a convoy under mortar fire and two seized vehicles full of documents. Insider Gaming also noted the event could be a precursor to a Scav Life DLC but that Battlestate Games has not announced such an expansion.

  • Latest news Hearthstone: Free card packs via official streams ahead of Reign of the Black Empire

    Insider Gaming reports Blizzard Entertainment will let players unlock free Hearthstone card packs by watching the team's official streams on Twitch or YouTube ahead of the Reign of the Black Empire expansion. Reign of the Black Empire is scheduled to land on October 20, and Insider Gaming says Blizzard and some partners will run a number of streams in the run-up to release. The article reports that watching those streams with a linked account is the method to unlock the free packs, and that the most important streams will take place from October 6 to 7. Insider Gaming also notes there is a 'trick' to maximize the value of the free packs, but the article excerpt does not detail that method.

  • Latest news GameRant updates '13 Best Tactical RPGs With Deep Character Customization', adds two games

    GameRant updated its "13 Best Tactical RPGs With Deep Character Customization, Ranked" article on September 26, 2026; author Mark Sammut said he added two more games to the piece. The article describes tactical RPGs as emerging from tabletop and old-school war games and says the subgenre still emphasizes strategy and difficult combat decisions. It frames deep character customization as a key attraction within those tactical RPGs. The update's byline credits Mark Sammut and Alex Daniel Reid.

  • Latest news IGN publishes Silent Hill games timeline after Silent Hill: Townfall release

    IGN published a timeline of Konami's Silent Hill games in order following the release of Silent Hill: Townfall, the outlet reported. The article, posted Sep 26, 2026, says Silent Hill has appeared for almost three decades and that each game contains a relatively standalone story tied to the character the Otherworld selects. IGN also reported that the franchise's wider lore develops across games through returning characters, memos, posters and other small details. The piece notes it is intended as a guide for readers curious about the series' timeline after Townfall's release and clarifies it is not a timeline of the town itself.

  • Latest news GameRant: Multiple PC '10/10' titles available for under $10, report says

    GameRant reported on September 25, 2026 that PC gamers can pick up multiple titles rated "10/10" for less than $10. The article was written by Dominik Bošnjak and described the offers as "masterpieces," saying PC players can currently obtain several critically acclaimed titles at that price. The supplied excerpt does not list which games, which storefront is offering them, or any sale name. The article excerpt also does not specify exact per-title prices or how long the offers will last.

  • Latest news EA Sports FC 27 adds The Grounds hub and new Tactics system, IGN review says

    IGN's review by Andrew McMahon reports that EA Sports FC 27 introduces an open‑world hub called The Grounds and a new Tactics system. McMahon says the Tactics system is realistic, concise and intuitive and 'shows promise.' The review also reports that improvements to computer‑controlled player behavior and pathing still fall short and that The Grounds can feel unnecessary. IGN concludes that the game mixes a largely positive tactical change with negative carryovers from prior series issues.

  • Latest news Wardogs Medic XP grind slows; medical bag unlocks at Medic level 24

    PC Gamer's Morgan Park reported that their Wardogs Medic XP progression slowed after reaching Medic level 18, while a combined revive-and-heal medical bag remains locked behind Medic level 24. Park wrote they reached Medic level 18 over their first 30 hours of play. They reported their rank-up pace fell from every one to two rounds to sometimes only a single rank over a whole night of play. Park also said they are performing as well or better in matches following the addition of defibrillators.

  • Latest news Silent Hill: Townfall — opening the auxiliary lines in Part 6

    PC Gamer explains how to open the auxiliary lines at the end of Part 6 in Silent Hill: Townfall. The guide, published 25 September 2026, describes the end-of-Part-6 puzzle as "perhaps its most complicated yet simple puzzle" and warns of spoilers. PC Gamer reports players must use the locker code 0825 in the command centre to retrieve a key to the auxiliary room, and that a floppy disk is found in a locker inside that auxiliary room. The article breaks the sequence into finding the AUX room and solving three line puzzles.

  • Latest news Deadlock: main-hub portrait's eyes are glowing again

    PC Gamer reports Deadlock's main-hub portrait of the man with red gloves is glowing again. PC Gamer says the glow could signal an imminent major update, noting the portrait last glowed before the Old Gods, New Blood update. PC Gamer adds that Old Gods, New Blood introduced six new heroes, a new mode, and other changes. PC Gamer also reports a Valve developer confirmed the portrait glow on Discord, but no official update date or details were provided.

  • Latest news Behind-the-scenes footage shows some scenes in Zach Cregger's Resident Evil film were practical

    TheGamer reported on Sep 25, 2026 that behind-the-scenes footage for Zach Cregger's Resident Evil film shows some of the film's most terrifying scenes were achieved entirely with practical effects. TheGamer described the behind-the-scenes footage as even more terrifying than the film itself. TheGamer also reported that, while several chilling moments and monsters in the film could only be achieved through CGI, some recent behind-the-scenes material demonstrates extensive practical work. The article was published by Steven Garrard for TheGamer.

  • Latest news Resident Evil (2026): stunt footage shows how the 'Katamari Monster' was brought to life

    IGN reports staff who worked on Zach Cregger’s Resident Evil (2026) film shared behind-the-scenes stunt footage showing how the film's 'Katamari Monster' stunt was executed. IGN says the footage offers a jaw-dropping look at the stunt team behind one of the movie's monsters. The outlet describes the main stalker mutation as having tentacle-like appendages that reach for infected bodies and combine them into a rolling mass of arms and legs—an effect games fans and many viewers have nicknamed the 'Katamari Monster,' IGN reports.