Nintendo
Nintendo news in brief: Switch and Switch 2, Zelda, Mario, Pokémon — announcements, releases, updates and everything from the Nintendo ecosystem.
Filtering datastream by specific parameter. 30 records matching
Latest news
- Latest news Pokemon VGC champion urges hygiene changes at competitions after illness
A Pokemon VGC regional champion is calling for changes to hygiene practices at competitions after GameRant reported they became seriously ill and attributed the illness to poor competitor hygiene. GameRant published the report on Sep 30, 2026. The article states the incident highlights a broader problem of poor competitor hygiene at events, according to GameRant.
- Latest news Pokemon FireRed and LeafGreen to receive most requested feature next week
TheGamer reported that Pokemon FireRed and LeafGreen will receive their most requested feature next week. The report was published by Sam Woods on September 30, 2026. The supplied excerpt does not identify which feature, which platforms or regions will get it, or provide an exact calendar date for the change.
- Latest news Pokémon FireRed and LeafGreen to add Pokémon Home transfer support
GameRant reported on September 30, 2026 that Pokémon FireRed and Pokémon LeafGreen will be able to transfer Pokémon into Pokémon Home. According to the report, this transfer capability will allow those Pokémon to be migrated onward to other games via Pokémon Home. The story on GameRant was written by Sarah Fields. The report did not provide a specific release date or detailed rollout information.
- Latest news Pokemon TCG Pocket: Deluxe Pack — Mega totals 429 cards, largest Pocket expansion
GameRant reports that Deluxe Pack: Mega for Pokemon TCG Pocket contains 429 cards, making it the largest Pocket expansion to date. The article states most cards in the set are reprints from earlier B series packs while the set includes 37 newly introduced cards. GameRant also notes the set has 166 parallel foil cards, and that counting those parallel foils raises the number of new cards to 203. The GameRant piece includes a full card list and was published by Tom Bowen on September 29, 2026.
- Latest news Star Fox (Switch 2) version 1.2.0 adds 4-player split-screen and new Battle stages
Nintendo released Star Fox (Switch 2) Version 1.2.0 on 29 September 2026, adding new Battle Mode stages and four-player split-screen, Nintendo Life reports. Nintendo Life says the update is free and was announced during the September Direct broadcast. According to Nintendo's support page reproduced by Nintendo Life, the patch also contains multiple adjustments across campaign mode, challenge mode, battle mode, and training, plus a number of bug fixes. The full patch notes are available on Nintendo's support page as cited by Nintendo Life.
- Latest news 10 SNES games still missing from Nintendo Switch Online, Polygon reports
Polygon reported on September 29, 2026 that Nintendo’s Switch Online service still lacks ten Super Nintendo Entertainment System (SNES) games. The article says Switch Online has restored many SNES hits for subscribers, but identifies a ranked list of ten notable absences. Polygon places Axelay at number 10 and notes that Axelay was released in September 1992. The piece also states that many licensed SNES titles are unlikely to appear on the service.
- Latest news Limited Run announces Lord of the Rings: War in the North physical for Switch 2
Nintendo Life reports Limited Run Games will distribute a physical version of The Lord of the Rings: War in the North - Legacy Edition for the Nintendo Switch 2, with pre-orders opening 2 October 2026. The outlet says two editions will be available: a standard copy priced at $49.99 USD and a Deluxe Edition priced at $79.99 USD. Nintendo Life reports the standard includes a slipcover and Wayfinder's Ledger booklet, while the Deluxe adds a steelcase, cloth map, and a weathered letter with a foreword by Jed Brophy. The article also notes Nintendo Life shared a first look at the packaging and additional details ahead of pre-orders going live.
- Latest news 007 First Light to get free DLC on October 2, IGN reports
IO Interactive's 007 First Light will receive a free DLC on Thursday, October 2, IGN reports. IGN says IO teased the DLC in a short social video but is remaining tight-lipped about what the pack will include. Based on prior information, IGN suggests the update is likely the long‑awaited Aston Martin Valhalla content and expects a new TacSim mission featuring that car; IGN also notes the DLC was teased in the game's main menu at launch. IGN's report notes the social post included a "Tune in on October 1st" message, and that other roadmap items such as new game+, new gadgets, and additional missions have previously been revealed as possibilities.
- Latest news New Steam action RPG likened to N64-era Zelda Soulslike, GameRant reports
GameRant reported a new Steam action RPG it described as similar to an N64-era The Legend of Zelda and to 'Soulslike' games. The report appeared as a GameRant story headlined "New Steam Action RPG Is Like an N64 Zelda Soulslike, and That's Enough" and was published Sep 29, 2026 by Josh Cotts. The available evidence identifies the platform as Steam and classifies the game as an action RPG according to GameRant's article. The source material does not provide the game's title, developer, release date, or additional platform details.
- Latest news Pokemon TCG: Four Delta Reign promo cards revealed
GameRant reports that the Pokemon Trading Card Game revealed four new promotional cards tied to the Delta Reign release. The report was published on September 28, 2026 by Michael Brandon Ingram and includes an image credited to The Pokemon Company. The supplied evidence is an article headline, author information, and the image credit but does not list the individual card names, art, or distribution details. The excerpt does not confirm release timing or how players can obtain these promos.
- Latest news Polygon lists Paperboy among NES games still missing from Nintendo Switch Online
Polygon published on Sep. 28, 2026 a list naming 10 NES games it says remain unavailable on Nintendo Switch Online. The outlet noted the NES helped rescue the video game industry in the late 1980s and that while many classic titles are already on Switch Online, dozens of others have not been added. Polygon singled out Paperboy (NES port released Dec. 1988) as an example and described that port as "something special." The piece argued these missing games "need to come to Switch Online as soon as possible."
- Latest news Zelda: Ocarina of Time Remake — Goron City footage suggests Hyrule 'too safe'
GameRant reported on September 28, 2026 that new Goron City footage for the Zelda: Ocarina of Time Remake suggests Nintendo may be making Hyrule “too safe.” The piece was published by GameRant and written by Josh Cotts. The article’s headline frames the footage as pointing to a notable tonal change in the remake compared with prior expectations.
- Latest news TheGamer names 21 best Pokémon Trading Card Game illustrators
TheGamer published a list titled "The 21 Best Pokemon Card Illustrators" that highlights 21 illustrators for the Pokémon Trading Card Game. The article reports the Pokémon TCG "continues to thrive" despite the adoption of digital alternatives, and attributes part of that endurance to the appeal of holding cards designed by favourite artists. It says the TCG began with only three recurring artists and has since featured contributions from countless artists bringing new styles and perspectives. The piece was updated on September 28, 2026.
- Latest news GameRant calls the LEGO PlayStation set 'an incredible set for gamers'
GameRant reviewed the LEGO PlayStation set and described it as "an incredible set for gamers." The review was written by Anthony Taormina and published on September 28, 2026. GameRant's coverage notes that LEGO has recently produced multiple video game–themed sets, referencing past collaborations such as the Mario sets. The article includes biographical details about the author as reported by GameRant but does not, in the supplied excerpt, provide retailer, price, or release specifics.
- Latest news Pokemon Ruby, Sapphire, and Emerald legendaries reported to return in 2027
GameRant reports that the Legendary Pokémon from Pokemon Ruby, Sapphire, and Emerald are quietly making a comeback in 2027. The article was published by GameRant on September 27, 2026 and is credited to author Drew Swanson. The story includes an image credited to The Pokemon Company, according to the article's image attribution. The supplied evidence does not specify what form the comeback will take or provide release details beyond the 2027 timeframe.
- Latest news Nintendo scores decisive win in massive piracy lawsuit
GameRant reported on September 27, 2026 that Nintendo scored a decisive win in a massive piracy lawsuit. The piece was published on GameRant and authored by Michael Brandon Ingram. The supplied evidence contains the article headline and author metadata but does not include details about the court, parties, damages, or legal reasoning. No additional sources or corroborating reporting are included in the provided evidence.
- Latest news Fire Emblem: Fortune's Weave on sale for $69.97 at Amazon, IGN reports
IGN reports that Fire Emblem: Fortune's Weave is available for $69.97 at Amazon, reduced from a listed $79.99 price. IGN's deals roundup, published Sep 27, 2026, identifies the discount as part of its weekend selections. IGN notes the game is out now and links to its 10/10 review, which praised the game's combat strategy and story. The same IGN article also highlights other deals that day, including discounts on a Corsair K70 keyboard, Super Mario RPG, Metroid Prime 4: Beyond, and the Nintendo Switch 2.
- Latest news GameRant: No new 3D Super Mario on Nintendo Switch 2 could benefit the console
GameRant reports that the Nintendo Switch 2, now well into its second year on shelves, still does not have a new 3D Super Mario title and argues that absence could be beneficial. The article says some players have grown impatient about the lack of a tentpole Mario adventure. GameRant claims the absence may allow Nintendo to deliver a broader slate of games and a more deliberately paced lifecycle for the console. It also notes there is currently "no shortage of interesting games to play" on the platform.
- Latest news Fire Emblem: Fortune's Weave shows 74–99 hour reports in early How Long To Beat entries
Nintendo Life reports that, one week after release, only a handful of players have posted completion times for the Switch 2 exclusive Fire Emblem: Fortune's Weave on How Long To Beat, and some of those entries list 74–99 hours for "main story + sides." GamesRadar+ highlighted that How Long To Beat still has little to no playtime data for the new game. Nintendo Life noted those user-reported totals place this entry ahead of Fire Emblem Engage and referenced Fire Emblem: Three Houses' average playtime of 75 hours. The story adds that the average playtime figure may change as more players contribute data.
- Latest news GameRant lists seven long NES games described as 'taking forever to complete'
GameRant published a ranked article listing seven NES games it described as long enough to be 'taking forever to complete'. The story appeared on September 26, 2026 and was credited to GameRant writer Mark Sammut. Image credits in the article reference New World Computing and Nintendo. Mark Sammut's author bio in the piece notes his role as GameRant's primary list editor and his prior writing for outlets including TheGamer and other Valnet sites.
- Latest news Fire Emblem: Fortune's Weave discounted to $69.97 on Amazon in IGN Sept. 26 deals
IGN reported on September 26, 2026 that physical copies of Fire Emblem: Fortune's Weave for Nintendo Switch 2 are available at Amazon for $69.97, compared with a $79.99 price noted elsewhere. IGN's deals roundup listed the Fire Emblem discount among its top picks for that day and referenced the game's 10/10 review score from IGN's own coverage. The article's headline also names Metroid Prime 4 and Nintendo Switch 2 as featured items in the same September 26 deals roundup. The IGN excerpt does not specify how long the Amazon price will last or whether equivalent digital discounts apply.
- Latest news GameRant: Fans split over new Pokemon Emerald release featuring Hoenn region
GameRant reported that fans are split over a new Pokémon release that features Emerald's Hoenn Region. The article was published on Sep 26, 2026 and is credited to Drew Swanson. GameRant's page includes a short summary line stating the release has divided fans and offers reader-format options. The supplied evidence does not include further details about the release, platforms, or official statements.
- Latest news Minecraft: Sift dimension coming to Java and Bedrock in 2027
Mojang announced at Minecraft LIVE in September 2026 that the Sift dimension will arrive in Minecraft Java and Bedrock Edition in 2027. IGN reported the Sift will be Minecraft’s first new dimension in more than 14 years and will join the Overworld, the Nether, and the End as an official fourth dimension. IGN also reported the Sift had previously been announced for the upcoming dungeon crawler Minecraft Dungeons 2. According to IGN, Mojang offered only visual teases during the stream and gave little information about how the Sift will work in vanilla Minecraft.
- Latest news The Legend of Zelda reportedly hits an 'end of an era' in 2027
GameRant reported that, based on announcements so far, 2027 will be the 'end of an era' for The Legend of Zelda franchise. The article, written by Dalton Cooper and published September 26, 2026, notes the series' longevity has depended in part on frequent reinvention while keeping an adventurous core. GameRant frames the 2027 conclusion as derived from current announcements rather than as an independently verified industry-wide fact.
- Latest news 72-year-old Pokemon collector sentenced after secretly GPS-tracking delivery driver
TheGamer reported that a 72-year-old Pokemon collector was sentenced after secretly GPS-tracking a delivery driver and must wear a tracker. The article was published on September 26, 2026 and written by James Lucas, an Executive Editor at TheGamer. TheGamer’s headline and summary indicate the sentencing outcome and the tracker requirement, but the excerpt provided here does not include jurisdiction, court name, or further sentencing details.
- Latest news Hell Is Us moves Switch 2 launch and first‑year major update to 27 October 2026
Nintendo Life reports that Nacon and developer Rogue Factor have pushed Hell Is Us’ Switch 2 release to 27th October 2026 and shifted a planned "major update" for all platforms to the same date. The official statement cited "logistical and distribution issues" as the reason for the change. Nintendo Life says the simultaneous date change is intended to ensure everyone can access the same experience at the same time, and that the update celebrates the game's first year. The article also notes the game was previously delayed in July and that Hell Is Us received "very positive" ratings on Steam while Push Square called it a "must‑play."
- Latest news Hell Is Us Nintendo Switch 2 port and major update delayed to October 27
Insider Gaming reported that Rogue Factor announced on social media the Nintendo Switch 2 port of Hell Is Us and the game's major update for all platforms have been delayed to October 27. The developer said the delay is due to logistics/distribution issues rather than technical problems and described the port as solid and stable, Insider Gaming reported. Hell Is Us originally launched in September 2025 and — although it did not come to Xbox Game Pass or PlayStation Plus at launch — it is now available on both services; Rogue Factor welcomed those players in the same social post, according to Insider Gaming.
- Latest news Roku Pro-Series 65-inch 4K OLED TV discounted to $799.99; 55-inch $699.99
IGN reports Roku's newly released Pro-Series 65-inch 4K OLED TV is available for $799.99 after applying coupon code ROKUOLED400 at Amazon, and the 55-inch model is $699.99 after using coupon code ROKUOLED300. IGN says the deals include free shipping and are being offered ahead of Prime Day for a limited time. The article notes OLED TVs are considered the best TVs for gaming and lists the original prices and percentage savings. IGN also advises refreshing the checkout page if a coupon code does not apply.
- Latest news Polygon: Ubisoft-developed official Legend of Zelda game was canceled by Nintendo
Polygon reported that Ubisoft was developing an official Legend of Zelda game that Nintendo later canceled. The report frames the cancellation as part of how Nintendo and Ubisoft's partnership dissolved. Polygon published the story on Sep 25, 2026; it was written by Austin Manchester.
- Latest news The Legend of Zelda: Wind Waker — release confirmed for October 2026
GameRant reports Nintendo has officially confirmed a new release of The Legend of Zelda: Wind Waker for October 2026. The GameRant story was published on September 25, 2026 and is credited to Joshua Duckworth. According to the article, the new release continues the franchise’s pattern of reinventing Hyrule, Link, and Zelda. The provided excerpt does not list a platform, a specific day in October, regional availability, or other release details.